The Gambling Commission website uses cookies to make the site work better for you. Some of these cookies are essential to how the site functions and others are optional. Optional cookies help us remember your settings, measure your use of the site and personalise how we communicate with you. Any data collected is anonymised and we do not set optional cookies unless you consent.

Set cookie preferences

You've accepted all cookies. You can change your cookie settings at any time.

Skip to main content

Licence to run the National Lottery

13 August 2020
31 March 2021

The Section 5 licence requires Camelot (opens in a new tab) to submit information and policies to us for approval.

Additional to the Section 5 licence, we also grant licences for each game, or class of games, promoted as part of the National Lottery, these include:

  • Lotto
  • EuroMillions
  • Thunderball
  • LottoHotPicks
  • EuromillionsHotPicks
  • Set For Life
  • Scratchcards
  • Interactive Instant Win Games.

Information about each game licence is available in The National Lottery games licences guide.


We awarded Camelot a ten year licence to run the National Lottery, starting in 2009. In March 2012 this was extended by four years.

Over this 14 year period we will amend our regulatory regime where appropriate, including the terms of the licence, to do the following:

  • cut bureaucracy
  • give Camelot more freedom
  • better protect Lottery players and the money they raise for good causes.

The Section 5 licence requires Camelot to submit information and policies to us for approval.

You can see these decisions in the Approvals, consents, variations, disapplications and waivers (PDF) document.


Some files may be not be accessible for users of assistive technology. If you require a copy of the file in an accessible format contact us with details of what you require. It would help us to know what technology you use and the required format.

Next page
Definition of terms for Section 5 licence decisions
Is this page useful?
Back to top